A UX Case Study on Mobile Banking App

Problem Statement The major problem causing low customers in terms of mobile banking app was that the users needed to be provided with less time consumption during a transaction. Excess Colouration in terms of the background of the app. Too much navigation when trying to get information or placing a transaction.

Research shows that 90% of the people using mobile banking apps always get irritated cause of the duration of time spent on it.

Solution

  • Putting of icons to shorten the process
  • Grouping of details that mean the same or go through the same process.
  • Reduction of the colouration by changing the background to the logo of the bank or reducing the background to a less dominant color and putting the logo at the right corner of the screen.
 Design Process 

Design thinking has to do with the methodology of providing a solution-based approach of solving problems. By first understanding the human needs involved, then create ideas and proceed to prototyping and testing. I ensure I applied the design thinking and also the 5 stages of design thinking which are;

  • Empathize
  • Define (problem)
  • Ideate
  • Prototype
  • Test

Empathize At this stage, I had to set aside my own assumptions about the mobile banking app and interview a few people using the app, I also read online about the people are facing when using the app. I had to analyze the solution by following different patterns.

Define At this stage, the information I got from empathy stage was put together. My observations was being analyzed, so I could put them together and define the core of the problem.

Ideate At this stage, I had to put together both the empathy stage and define stage, in other for me to start generating ideas on how to solve them. Most importantly I had to think OUTSIDE THE BOX to identify new solution to the problem statement I have created.

Prototype I was able to conduct a test on a small number of people outside my design team. My aim was to identify the best possible solution for each of the problems identified.

Test Finally, I was able to make some upgrades on the mobile banking app after some time based on the testing results. A light-shade of color was designed for the background of the app. Grouping of details to aid fast usability. *Reducing the amount of navigation when performing a transaction or any task.

The mobile banking app will still undergo more test which will give birth to a second version of the case study.

Conclusion This mobile banking app was designed to improve the experience of transactions and also reduce the irritation of the background and also setting in the app.

This is my first time writing a case study. I hope you enjoy reading it and also give a feedback.

THANK YOU.